Voices Considered Attractive Send Body Cues: Scientific American Podcast

http://www.scientificamerican.com/podcast/episode.cfm?id=voices-considered-attractive-send-b-13-04-30

The article states basically that people associate voices w body size and then have unconscious preferences as a result. Two words on that – Rick Astley (sp??). If you are a certain age you remember him: big gorgeous Barry White voice in a scrawny little white boy body…

Plus sometimes those voices aren’t always that way. I work in a job that requires me to be on the phone a lot and right now I have a badly sore throat so am rather husky sounding. Yesterday I had to take several calls in a row and by the time I got the last I was very throaty and I said my little initial ID spiel and ended w “how may I help you?” And it was a man and he said, “you can just keep talking; you have the sexiest voice.” I started laughing and said, “I have a very sore throat but thank you.” (He didn’t have a bad voice himself so we did chat a wee bit more than necessary for the call 😉 )

Moral of the story is “so love the voice but don’t gauge looks by it.”

Leave a Reply

