Connected but Alone?

Connected but Alone?

Connected, but alone? – Sherry Turkle

As we expect more from technology, do we expect less from each other? Sherry Turkle studies how our devices and online personas are redefining human connection and communication — and asks us to think deeply about the new kinds of connection we want to have.

Talk by Sherry Turkle.

via TED Education.

~*~

This is interesting to me for many reasons – I see myself here, not focusing on my daughter – off on my phone on some site or other… then walking into the same room with her and she’s on her phone, trolling some site – doing what she sees me doing…. it’s not a good thing. We get in the car together and she chatters up a storm and I am a combo of amused, amazed and, yes, annoyed… I listen to people talk all day long – silence is golden to me – but sitting here (w technology… 😉 ) I am realizing that I am short changing BOTH of us – she will be leaving in a few years and what will she have learned of family connection? Nichts…

Also, it makes me think about a friendship that was mostly texting for communication until there was a move. … And in that separation, to keep connected, I began to do what I like to do – “talk” – moved from texting to emails so now there is what she calls real communication. … hehehe, I will have to ponder that one in a more private place.

But! it’s an interesting (longish) vid, watch it on your technological device of choice (!!) and then go look at one of your loves in the eyes and talk to them a moment!

Leave a Reply

